Posted by: geonarcissa | May 18, 2010

Post-production with GIMP

Inspired by some recent photos taken by ErikaJean, I took a stab at capturing a waterfall and a sawmill near Madoc, Ontario, using longer exposure time to “smooth” the water. It worked fairly well, but it was a very bright day so the pictures were a little too bright and washed-out.

Using directions from this tutorial, I tried to imitate a neutral density filter. It’s my first serious attempt at correcting a photograph like this, but I’m happy with the result. I plan to play with it some more, but I wanted to post this initial before/after for posterity.

For the record, today I received a real neutral density filter that I purchased on eBay last week (in addition, a light polarizing lens, a 10X magnifying lens, and a UV filter) so I hope that overexposure isn’t a problem for future water photographs (unless I forget to bring my filters).

I also found myself wishing I had brought my telephoto lens – but that’s another post. 😀

Responses

  1. It turned out great. I know what you mean about wanting another lens! I want more SO bad…. but the price. Ouch!

    • My camera came as a kit that included a 55-200mm telephoto lens, but I’ve been concentrating on using the 18-55mm lens. I have so much to learn!

      I think maybe the red is too saturated in the edited version of this picture, so I’ll probably take another stab at it, but I’m still pretty pleased at what I accomplished. The internet is so helpful! 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

