Posted by: geonarcissa | May 27, 2010

Donegal Coat-of-Arms is Finished!

Got this done tonight while watching the American Idol finale. It’s insanely hot here so stitching is about the only productive thing I can do without overheating. I posted my pattern for this design back in March when I started this blog.

Filling in the green and yellow took a long time! This was my first time stitching on this sort of linen. I liked the way it made the stitches vary in size a little bit. The inconsistencies and flaws in the linen also give it a more “antique” appearance. The fabric was pretty easy to stitch on overall, but sometimes the threads got very small and I almost stitched over three instead of two.

I’m not sure how it’s going to be mounted. I think it would look nice trimmed somewhat close with a frayed edge, and then mounted on a nice background and framed. Another option is stretching it over a frame, like a painting canvas.

It looks like the black outline gets narrower at the top, but it’s because the white field around the words doesn’t have any stitches to stiffen the fabric there. Once it’s mounted, that will be corrected.

I’ll try to take some better close up pictures of the stitching on front and back when there’s daylight.

And now, I’m going to show it to its intended recipient!

If anyone from Donegal wants to flame me for not getting the design right, please be gentle.

Leave a Reply

Categories

